First install, 7" touchscreen shows volumio login:

Hi I’m a noob. I’ve installed Volumio on a Pi 3B with a 7" touchscreen. All I get on the screen is volumio login: I’ve read on here about installing 7" touchscreen plugin, and it talks about SSH into Volumio and that sort of thing.
Simple questions
Where is the link to download the touchscreen plugin?
How do I SSH into Volumio on my MAC?
How do I install this plugin?
Ken

You find the Touch Display plugin in the plugin store (“Plugins” → “Search Plugins” → “System Hardware”), so you don’t need to connect to Volumio via SSH in order to install the plugin.

An SSH connection might be necessary to do specific settings for your screen. If and what settings have do be made depend on the type of screen. So please provide the brand and exact model name of the screen.

Regarding the Touch Display plugin I recommended to install version 3.3.5beta as version 3.3.1stable has a problem applying touch rotation settings which is fixed in 3.3.5beta. Unlike 3.3.1 the beta version also detects download errors and cancels the installation of the plugin if such an error occurs. In this case, the plugin would not appear in the list of installed plugins, giving the impression that the installation was successful.

In order to be able to install beta versions of plugins at first you need to enable “Plugins Test Mode” on http://volumio.local/dev; maybe you have to use the IP address of your Volumio system instead of “volumio.local”.

After that head over to the plugin store and click on the “Details” button for the Touch Display plugin and choose “Install v3.3.5(beta)”.

Be aware that updating the plugin from a beta version to a newer beta version of the same plugin is not possible in the proper sense, but requires to uninstall the older version and install the newer one. Uninstalling a plugin erases the settings you may have made on the plugin’s config page.