first boot issues..

oke guys (and girls) i’m stuck here at the very beginning and hope you guys can help me a little over this first hurdle.

At first i’m not a complete nitwit… I know my way around linux (ubuntu) as i have been using it for about 3 years on my main machine, mainly via GUI but am not affraid to open a terminal either.

I recently receveid my raspberry pi, and had only one SD card. Installed raspbian on it via the noobs system. really didn’t use much with it as i wanted to install ubuntu mate on it, and not via the noobs system but via flashing the .img on it. As i tried the “dd” way via linux and things just seem to end up on my linux machine in some folders on a partition named data. I use this as a shared folder drive for both windows and linux for the time when i need t escape back to windows for what ever reason. anyway, it comes on the linux machine and not the SD card. so i’m doing something wrong there.

As i understand that it is easy to wreck you system when using dd wrong, which i was doing so i decide to escape to windows and installed it via the special sdcard flasher program “win32diskimager” which worked.

So today i received an other SD card from over the mail (8GB class 6) and wanted to install volumio via in the same way. Really didn’t realise at that time that volumio is a headless system from scratch so i connected all to my display, keyboard, mouse, wifi dongle (don’t have a dac for now but that will come later) . turned it on and saw that two of the raspberry pi led turned on (red and green(yellow?)) but it turned on, no blinking nothing.

realised that it was all headless, turned it off and realised that i would need to get to the network router from where i get my wireless signal, which is in the room next door (neighbour) . which i did (but don’t want to do to often as i don’t want to distrub them although they don’t seem to mind it as much.