External USB CD player

I’m new to Volumio and interested in using it, possibly on a ready-to-go Allo Boss Player, or maybe a Pi-based unit I put together myself…

I totally get that I can turn a ‘standard amp & speaker’ setup into a system that will be able to stream my FLAC and MP3 files from my NAS/RAID box, among many other things I don’t care about, but I have not found anything definitive in these forums about external USB-CD player support on the BOSS unit…

Clearly the Pi itself can support a USB CD player (and writer), as will any ‘normal’ Linux distribution, but does Volumio also come with support for such a device? If so, does it have controls like “next track”, “play fast/slow”, which exist on, for example VLC, or on physical remote control for a normal CD player? - by which I mean a HiFi-style unit with RCA line-level outputs. I don’t care about grabbing track names or artwork from the internet (usually more trouble that it’s worth!), just functionality.

-> The problem I want to solve is to be able to occasionally play a ‘real’ CD through the BOSS onto my HiFi, because I no longer have a normal CD (or CD/DVD) player, and don’t want to have to rip the CD on one of my PCs to then copy it my NAS unit. Maybe a friend turns up with a CD, for example.

I’m thinking of using a very basic portable USB 3.0 CD/DVD player, not anything fancy, as I doubt the transport itself makes much difference to my preferences for sound quality - so long as it works without too many errors. I suspect the DAC is more important, and certainly the speakers - yes, I do like the bottom two octaves that most speakers never reproduce, being a live music old guy!

Anyway I digress - will Volumio and/or Boss/Allo do it for me or not?

As I understand CD player option is only available in paid version of volumio.
EDIT:
Sorry I was wrong, there is another possibility: NanoSound CD Plug-in
I not found it at first because it was in Music Services folder.