DSD direct on Amanero Combo384 USB DAC

Hi All

I am new to Volumio.
My Raspberry Pi3B is connected to my DAC through Amanero Combo384 USB.
I found that the DAC can recognize DSD only when Volumio play with DSD on PCM setting.
Anyone can help?

1 Like

Hi, in my belief, Volumio version 2.779 (Released: Jun 8 18:35:15 CEST 2020) has reversed functions names for “DSD playback mode”: “DSD direct” and “DSD over PCM (DoP)”. Personally, I don’t mind, but it can be confusing for other Volumio users.

I’m just listening to PURE DSD DAC through Amanero Combo384 USB (DSC2 DAC). After booting up Volumio, first “play” in Direct DSD mode and you won’t hear anything. Press the STOP button, change to DSD DoP mode and play another song. I believe you will succeed too, it plays fantastically. Report the result, please.

Hello! I use the same Amanero board too with RPi 3 and Volumio 2.x.
DSD64 play good in both setting (Direct/DOP), DSD128 play in DOP normal, but in Direct with interrupting. DSD256 play with interrupting in both setting (Amanero support DSD up to 512). What the problem may be?

Hi !
I finally gone through the painful journey and get proper setting and get DSD 512 with RPi3, Amanero and Volumio 2.x.
When Volumio set to Direct or DoP with Amanero, it can run DSD up to DSD128.
The problem is came from the firmware of Amanero board. The default firmware is optimized for WIndows, not Linux.
The firmware must be updated for Linux to play DSD 256 or 512…
Once it was done. you can play DSD 256 or 512.
You can get the programming tool and firmware from official website below:

https://amanero.com/combo384_firmware.htm

Warning! Please make sure your Amanero board is original.
Otherwise, you will fail to program it and make it become a brick!
Or you need another way (unofficial) to reprogram it.
Good luck!