Consume and playlist visibility

Hi everyone, I’m new to Volumio, I just started looking at Volumio for a solution for an embedded music player for a homebrew jukebox. There are two problems that combined I see as a dealbreaker for my use though, so I was hoping someone could comment. First problem is that there is no consume mode, which my family finds very confusing when trying to use it. Second and more important problem is that MPD does not seem to be aware of the current playlist queue contents, instead it seems to be only visible in Volumio. I have plans to integrate other things into this, possibly other MPD clients, and not having the playlist queue visible in MPD is problematic.

Any comments welcome.

First problem is that there is no consume mode, which my family finds very confusing when trying to use it.

By “consume mode” I assume that you mean that items get removed from the play queue once they have been played? Obviously this doesn’t work if the play queue is set to repeat, so how would you expect the UI to work? Currently there are buttons for repeat/repeat once, shuffle, save playlist, and clear.

Second and more important problem is that MPD does not seem to be aware of the current playlist queue contents, instead it seems to be only visible in Volumio. I have plans to integrate other things into this, possibly other MPD clients, and not having the playlist queue visible in MPD is problematic.

This is part of the way that Volumio is designed - Volumio is in control of the playlist, not MPD. It seems unlikely that such a substantial change to the architecture would happen without a lot of input from the community. Is there a reason that you can’t use the Volumio Websocket API to access the play queue?