Ciao from Southampton England.

Hi guys and gals,

I’m quite new to the Audiophile world - well at least venturing out on my own. I grew up with Hi-Fi and I think I’m trying to relive some happy memories…

I have just upgraded to from my “Bluetooth” Onyx speakers by Harmon Kardon - which only had Bluetooth input and it was only of the SBC codec to my dismay — and I lived with this for three whole years. We do pay a price for convenience… all my media is from Apple Music at the moment - I think they are absolutely brilliant because I like premade and curated music for me according to my eclectic tastes… I’m not very good at remembering artist names and song titles.

So I’m going to stick to streaming - I even tried Tidal out for a few days and I didn’t like it at all for the lack of playlists and curation…

Anyway - my new equipment: Ruark MR1s MK2, and Rega DAC, Apple Airport, iPhone/Ipad as streamer.
I got rid of the HK Onyx (Gen 1).

I’m very happy with my new sound as the speakers just fit the room just right - but I am very unhappy about the noise :frowning:

I know for a fact that the Apple Express has a bad Toslink output because I plugged them in directly to the Ruarks before I got the DAC I was so upset and frustrated… I was so happy that when I tried hooking the toslink to my Rega DAC the sound was so much better… only retrospectively did I find out that the Rega DAC had asynchronous qualities and a buffer.

However - with added clarity these speakers emphasise the noise as well - there is so much more depth… sometimes there is just background noise, sometimes there is a click or jitter especially at higher frequencies or if the song is high tempo. And at one point my speaker was clipping - I think I need attenuators because I didn’t want to minimise my sound resolution… my Amps are only linear 20W for these small speakers - but I think I might need it.

Ugh and PSU has been on my mind etc etc. I just wished I could be satisfied with the sound.