Cannot connect to volumio.local after installation

Hi,

hope this forum can help me. I am a complete noob trying to make this work but unfortunately following the instructions does not yield any result.

I purchased a Raspberry Pi because I wanted to stream music to my hifi system (I am currently using a DAC to connect the amp to my laptop)

System
Laptop: Windows 7
Raspberry Pi 3 Model B
Volumio version 2.0

I follow the steps of the installation guide.

1. I format the SD card I will be using
  2. I save the volmio image on the SD card using Win32DiskImager
  3. I connect my raspberry pi to a keyboard and my monitor, insert the SD card and then plug in the charger. At this stage I do NOT the RP to my DAC yet.
  4. The installation starts, an error message is displayed
    "ā€¦ brcmfmac: brcmf_add_if: ERROR: netdev:wlan0 already exists
    this error is repeated with alternating "ignore IF event messages
  5. I press enter and get to the login. I login to volumio using volumio/volumio
  6. I am trying to connect to volumio by entering volumio.local on my laptop. It doesnā€™t work.
  7. based on what I read, I check ifconfig to look for the IP address.
    It displays eth0, lo and wlan0. I try to type in the IP address displayed there in the wlan0 paragraph (first I tried the entry under inet address, then the entry under Bcast). Both of them did not work

I do see volumio in the list of networks on my laptop. I can actually connect to it using the password volumio2. I am not sure what the purpose of that is. But it shows that the volumio is actually ā€œaliveā€

As a next step, I tried to connect the RP to an ethernet cable. Just to see. I have no ethernet cable next to my hifi system, so this is not an option, and part of the reason why I bought the more expensive RP model with inbuilt wifi.

I resetart the RP again and repeat the steps 4-6 again (but instead of the IP address under wifi, I go for the one under eth0). again, canā€™t connect.