Been nearly 24 hours loading Music Library

Volumio Information

Volumio Version: ? System Version 2.882
Hardware: Raspberry Pi 4, 4 GB, 12" iPad 1st gen
DAC: Schiit multibit

I am new to both Volumio and the Raspberry Pi. I got it build and installed and can access with the iPad. It’s been loading the Music Library (portable USB hard drive attached to the Pi) for nearly 24 hours how (rotating arrows)

I do have a fairly large library (7890 CDs so about 96,000 tracks) and I don’t know how to tell if this is “normal” for a first time or if something is wrong. I just clicked on Albums and after over a minute nothing happened. Occasionally something appears and I can get things to play, but it is VERY slow operating, and I assume that is because of the Music Loading.

Can anyone tell me what’s going on? Is this too large of a library for efficient use?

1 Like

After about 26 hours it stopped, so I guess the Music Library is loaded. If I “click” on Albums, after about 20 seconds, a page full of icons show up. If I scroll that page up, there is blank space which fills in after 15-20 more seconds.

So it seems to work, but doesn’t seem to handle a large library,…

1 Like

It would appear that you have a problem. This is frequently caused by “unexpected/corrupt/malformed” audio files that causes mpd library scanning to fail. Have a look in the system logs and see if there are any particular files flagged up (and try removing them).

Would you share some system logs please?

Preferable from a fresh reboot, with minimal steps to reproduce the problem :slight_smile:

Fresh reboot, clicked on albums and it’s been 4 minutes and still nothing appears. It’s mostly just non-responsive
http://logs.volumio.org/volumio/FP2teTq.html

It doesn’t shutdown either. Since it never has, I’m not sure what it’s supposed to do, but clicking shutdown on the iPad brings up a black screen with rotating white spots that never go away. (The light on the power cord is still red)

Hi,