Any tips on adding radio stations? Trying to add local

Hi,

I’m a long time LMS user for internet radio, but recently started looking at overhauling my system and Volumio came up often as a recommendation. So far, I love how Volumio works, and the Spotify integration is great.

The one thing though that I seem to be missing is my local radio stations. in LMS. my local radio stations were already in the pre-list of stations they provided. I can’t seem to find that in Volumio, so I have been trying to add them in manually. I have never done this before, and the only thing I could come up with after looking at the page source in Chrome was this tunein.com/radio/The-Wave-899-s12186/

Anyone have any link they can recommend to me to add local stations to Volumio? Also, what formats are valid/acceptable?

Thanks,

Also can we add BBC radio stations to the list. The BBC aren’t listed on Shoutcast.

The BBC streams links are here:
suppertime.co.uk/blogmywiki/ … adio-urls/

I think the trick is to search for a URL for the station that ends in .m3u or .pls. So for KQED, a local public radio station in San Francisco, I went to their web site and found this page:

kqed.org/radio/listen/

From that page I plugged in the below URL into Volumio’s Add Web Radio and it worked:

streams.kqed.org/kqedradio.m3u

Note that a lot of local radio stations owned by large national aggregators don’t support streaming URLs and force you to use their apps and web sites (e.g. IHeartRadio).

It’s strange, when I plug the URLs from the above link into Volumio they play for 30 seconds and stop. Perhaps it is because I am in the U.S. But going to the BBC’s Wikipedia entry there is a list of URLs on the right side bar:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BBC_Radio_4