Adding Tidal Connect

Tidal just announced Tidal Connect, which apparently operates similarly as Spotify Connect does. Is this something that can be looked into adding to Volumio? Thank you.

7 Likes

I created an account just to second this. I’m brand new to Volumio via a MiniDSP SHD streamer and I was shocked to see how terrible the Tidal implementation is. It’s enough that I planned on canceling my Tidal subscription and just using Spotify Connect full time because that plugin works beautifully.

We absolutely need a Tidal Connect plugin now that it’s possible. I gather the Volumio team has been working very hard for months on a whole new Tidal integration and I hope that isn’t wasted work, but all of the problems would be immediately solved with just a Tidal Connect plugin. The UX of the Tidal app will always been superior. Just let us use the native app to cast to our Volumio devices.

Paging @volumio and @fanciulli for a reply on this whole Tidal Connect business. I searched all over and I don’t think anything has been said since the announcement.

For reference: https://tidal.com/Connect

6 Likes

Hi,

thanks for sharing your feature request. We are currently working on this topic so you’ll see updates on this for sure on the future. Keep in mind that part of the process is obtaining commercial authorization from Tidal itself so a valid timeline cannot be given at this time. What’s sure is that as soon as we get the paper work done we’ll start the implementation of Tidal Connect.

Please take a look at the beta version of Tidal and give us your personal feedback while waiting for Tidal Connect.
I’ll keep you posted.

3 Likes

Thank you for the reply. Glad to hear it’s on your radar. Good luck on the authorization process, and I’m sure we’d all be grateful for any updates along the implementation process.