Accessing Music folder on external hard drive via router

Hi, I have three rpi’s in various parts of the house all running volumio (vers 3.378). For my needs, Volumio works very well and I am very pleased with it. However I have an issue that I have searched but found no simple explanation and I am hoping that someone might be able to explain, in simple steps if possible as I am not that tech savvy. I have an external hard drive which when plugged into either Rpi allows me to access my music files. What I would like to do is plug this hard drive into my router thus enabling all 3 pi’s to see my music files ( simple file sharing). The router is a TP Link AC 1750. I don’t imagine that this is rocket science however it is defeating me. Any advice would be warmly received.

please have a look here, to get started

I have four Raspberry Pis, all running Volumio.

I have a BT HomeHub router. I tried to attach a hard drive to the router so that all Pis could access it - failed.

I suggest the following fix:
Plug the HD into one of your RPis. This will serve as the master drive
In the “Sources” tab add it as a source “+New Drive”
Rescan and Update.
In your second RPi go to Source, Click on “+New Drive” you should see master drive that you have set up on the first Rpi and the path to the HD. Select, Update and Rescan.

Repeat for the third Rpi.

Essentially you are using the HD attached to one Pi as a media server.

I have also “mapped” my HD as a network drive on my PC so that I can transfer music files over my home network. That step is a bit more complex but not difficult.

If your router is connected to a Windows PC this may solve your problem. I found this on MS Support page and it allowed me to access my external drive connected to my new router. I have yet to connect my Pi to the new router and test if I still have access to the music library. One step at a time :slight_smile: